

THE MDBC INNOVATION & SUSTAINABILITY AWARDS 2019

JUDGES

All entries for the MDBC Innovation & Sustainability Awards are judged by highly regarded, independent, expert individuals led by the Chief Judge – H.E. Aart Jacobi (Ambassador, Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands).

After shortlisting entries in each category, judges do one final round of assessment during the MISA Day Program where each shortlisted nominee gives a presentation on their submission. Judges and audience members alike are allowed to ask questions of each nominee before category judges meet privately to confer and tally up the points.

Winners in each category are announced immediately after the Day Program at the MISA Awards Ceremony and Dinner. This announcement is inclusive of a judges report on the winner's submission, highlighting the underlying core concept of MISA – the sharing of best practices, which leads to an elevation in the understanding of Innovation and Sustainability.



Chief Judge – H.E. Aart Jacobi

Ambassador, Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands

Joining the Embassy here in Malaysia after his posting to Japan, the Ambassador brings with him a wealth of experience in the Asian region. Skilled in Intercultural Communication, Political Science, Government, Dutch and International Relations. He is a strong community and social services professional with a Master of Arts focused in Japanese Constitutional Law from Kyoto University.



BEST INNOVATIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT PROJECT



Judge A – Herman Huisman

Senior Advisor / Expert, RWS Environment

Herman Huisman is the Senior Advisor / Expert and Coordinator International Projects of RWS Environment's department. An environmental biologist by training, Herman began his career at the Scientific Council for Government Policy, a think tank of The Netherland's Prime Minister. After seven years, he was assigned to build up the Commission on Environmental Impact Assessment. In 1991 he was asked to set up the Bureau of the Waste Management Council. In 2001, he was appointed as the Executive Secretary of the Council and Managing Director of the Bureau. The Bureau was then merged with NL Agency before the Environment Division was transferred to RWS (an Agency of the Ministry of Infrastructure and Environment) in 2013.



Judge B – Kasturi Nathan

Executive Director, KPMG Management & Risk Consulting

Kasturi Nathan is a Partner of KPMG in Malaysia and an Executive Director with Governance & Sustainability (G&S) practice of KPMG Management & Risk Consulting Sdn Bhd. She is an MIA Chartered Accountant and a Fellow CPA, Australia, who has been with KPMG for more than 20 years, specializing in Corporate Governance Advisory, Sustainability & Climate Change Advisory & Assurance related services, and Sarbanes – Oxley (both USSOC and JSOX). Kasturi led the development of the Corporate Governance Guide commissioned by Bursa Malaysia across three editions, and the development of the Sustainability Reporting Guide, and Sustainability Toolkits (published in October 2015 by Bursa Malaysia).



BEST DIGITAL GREEN TECH



Judge A – Freek van Eijk

CEO, Holland Circular Hotspot

Freek van Eijk is one of the more senior Dutch experts in the field of Waste Managmement and Circular Economy and a frequent jury member in innovation challenges. He also serves as Managing Director of Acceleratio and as an Advisory Board Member of the World Biogas Association. He served for over a decade as Director of Strategy and PA at multinational SUEZ. He has also served as a board member at the Dutch Waste Management Association, the Society and Enterprise Foundation (SMO), and was a member of the EU Innovation Partnership on Raw Materials.



Judge B – Karamjit Singh

Founder, Digital News Asia

After 19 years as a print journalist, Karamjit moved to launch an online news portal focusing on technology and innovation news. He encouraged remote working to help reduce the carbon footprint of DNA journalists and installed solar panels on his roof. He founded DNA with a vision that media should play its role as the Fourth Estate, and on the belief that timely, insightful, and analytical coverage can help the tech ecosystem in Southeast Asia, especially in Malaysia, grow and develop. He was the winner of the Malaysian Press Institute Award for Best Telecommunications Writer (English category) in 2002, the Digi Telecommunications Journalist of the Year (Magazine category) 2004, and the Malaysian Customer Relationship Management and contact Centre Association Journalist of the Year in 2009.



Judge C – Navin Sinnathamby

Senior Program Manager - Data Economy Division, Malaysia Digital Economy Corporation (MDEC)

Navin oversees disruptive technologies such as IoT, Big Data, and AI as key innovation enablers across industry verticals to drive digital adoption towards realizing the Digital Economy in Malaysia. He brings with him over 13 years of industrial experience as a wide spectrum of roles covering stakeholders engagement, professional training, networking communication, business development, and talent enablement with significant exposure to program management. He also leads one of the key national initiatives: sustainable agriculture technology (agtech) by catalyzing digital adoption to transform traditional farming into a High Income Digital Economy Farming Profession.



BEST PRACTICE FOR RENEWABLE ENERGY



Judge A – Azah Ahmad

Senior Director – Strategic Planning Division, Sustainable Energy Development Authority (SEDA Malaysia)

Azah has been in the renewable energy and energy efficiency industry for 17 years and is currently in charge of net – metering implementation, RE industry development & support, and human capital development in RE. At the international level, she has served as the Chairman of the ASEAN Energy Awards – RE category since 2012 and represents Malaysia as the focal point to the ASEAN Renewable Energy & Sub – Sector Network (RE – SSN). She also represents Malaysia to the APEC Experts Group on New and RE Technologies (EGNRET).



Judge B – Kees W. Kwant

Senior Expert – Bioenergy & Biobased Economy, Netherlands Enterprise Agency (RV0.nl)

Kees has a background in Fluid Dynamics and Technology Development from the Technical University Twente. His industry experience includes work at Dutch multinational DSM and being the Program Manager of the National Solar Energy Program of The Netherlands. He has extensive experience in innovation and enabling the development of a sustainable Bio – based Economy and Renewable Energy. He was the Chair of the IEA Bioenergy Technology Collaboration Program until 2018 and is the Executive Member for The Netherlands. He participates in bilateral collaboration on Bio – Energy between The Netherlands, South Africa, Malaysia, Brazil, and Ukraine.



Judge C – Sibrandes Poppema Member of the Board, Sunway University

Sibandes Poppema is a Dutch Canadian clinician scientist and higher education leader. He is a TS Jeffrey Cheah Distinguished Professor, a member of the Board of Sunway University, Special Advisor to the Chancellor and the CEO of Sunway Education Group, Knight in the Order of The Netherlands Lion, and President Emeritus University of Groningen. From 1999 – 2018, he was Dean of Medicine and next President of the University of Groningen.